The word “chakra” has ancient roots and is Sanskrit for “wheel.” There are seven chakras that run down the body’s midline from the base of the spine to the top of the head. When these areas are running smoothly, our energy and vitality can flow freely to where it is most needed. When a chakra is blocked, energy can get stuck and manifest as discomfort. There are many ways to harness the power of breath work, visualization and meditation to bring each of the body’s energy centers back into balance. Here are a few tips:

Root chakra:

The first chakra, the root chakra, is located at the base of the spine and relates to our foundations and basic needs. A quick way to bring the root chakra into balance is by placing your bare feet on the earth and feeling yourself grounding down to help balance your root chakra. Meditate and focus your energy on your feet that anchor you.

Sacral chakra:

The sacral chakra, located in the lower abdomen, is about connecting to others and accepting change. It also relates to pleasure, passion, and sexual energy. To heal and clear blocks around the sacral chakra, you must cut the cords with them. Visualize yourself pulling out the cords at the center of the body and then sage the space and use a carnelian crystal to balance your sacral chakra. Lie comfortably on your back, and lay the crystal over your chakra for 11 minutes.

Solar plexus chakra:

Moving up the body, the solar plexus chakra governs self-confidence and is located in the upper abdomen. Try deep-belly breathing to call your attention to this energy center. Sit down and begin to take a few deep breaths. Once you’ve tuned in to the breath and body, begin to visualize yourself navigating the day ahead.

Heart chakra:

As the name suggests, the heart chakra relates to how we process emotion and show love. It’s the middle chakra that connects our lower chakras that are more about physical energy and relationships to our upper chakras, which relate more to the head and spirit. Yoga is a wonderful tool for tending to the heart. Heart-opening poses include shoulder flossing, warrior 2, and a full wheel. End with a meditation on everything in life that you feel grateful for.

Throat chakra:

When the throat chakra is out of balance, we are not honoring, or speaking, our truth and the block often comes when we have been silenced in our lives, either in childhood or a past life. In order to strengthen our throat chakra, we usually need to address our sacral chakra and get in touch with our emotions too. Throat chakra balancing crystals such as blue lace agate, turquoise, or blue calcite can be used. You can hold it in your left hand during meditation or place it at the base of your throat while lying down during meditation. Great essential oils that honor our throat chakra are lavender, rosemary, frankincense, German chamomile, and hyssop.

Third-eye chakra:

Our third-eye chakra represents intuition and the ability to see beyond what lies on the surface. Located between the eyebrows, this chakra is said to be blocked when you feel intense anxiety about the future. Mindfulness meditation is a way to strengthen our connection to our own inner voice.

Crown chakra:

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head, and it’s the gateway to a higher consciousness. Sit quietly, with spine erect. Align your core by sending your imaginary roots down into the earth from the base of your spine and lifting the top of your head up to the heavens. Imagine breathing light up your core and back down again on the exhalation. Then imagine opening your crown chakra like a flower. Continue imagining light pouring into your crown until your mind is quiet.